Henry Turned ONE

Standard

After a year and a half of blogging, I’ve finally reached my 100th post!! This is cause for celebration in itself.  Luckily, this post happens to be all about the BIG Birthday Party.  I couldn’t have planned this better myself, if I had tried (really I didn’t).  I’ve spent days thinking about how I’ll lay out the entire party, so I’ve decided on a series of posts. First, we’ll start with the party and then I’ll go back and focus on the details.  How I made it all come together.

For those of you know know my obsessive tendencies, know that I’ve been planning this party for months, okay maybe almost an entire year.  Katie, put the brilliant idea of having an Olympic Themed party in my head, and  there was no turning back.  I’m almost mad I didn’t think of it myself.

The drawing board was easy, thanks to Pinterest, and the decorations were easy to execute thanks to Carol (whom watches Henry during the week).  The woman is a creative genius!  She’s bound to make me one too! More on that tomorrow.  Now let’s focus on the big day itself.

Saturday, we celebrated Henry’s first birthday with all our closest family and friends.  We rented out the Town Hall in Rochester for many reasons.  Mostly, the thought of all those people in our house during winter makes me panic.  That’s far too much cleaning in one weekend.  Plus our house really isn’t that big for 60+ people (yes, my sons first birthday had as many people as a small wedding).  Also, we have a decent size immediate family, plus a great group of friends.  We knew there’d be a large attendance (a little conceded are we) and wanted everyone to enjoy themselves.  Nothing worse than attending a party where there’s no where to sit and you’re walking on top of everyone.

With the help of Ashley, Nate, Grammy Tami and Ben, we got all the cooking and prep work done on Friday.  Alice came Saturday morning so we could do all the set up.  Henry was still under the weather from his birthday pneumonia diagnosis, so I wasn’t worried when he decided to nap for 3.5 hours the day of his party. Again, sleep makes moms crazy!

Party started at 2pm and guests were arriving on time.  Ben and I were in full mode of greeting our guests, but making sure we were enjoying ourselves too.  We had the food (thanks to our moms for helping out with making things) ready to go when people arrived, party buckets for the kids, a few games, and an inviting atmosphere (or that’s what I like to tell myself).  There was lots of socializing and laughter.  I tried to converse we all the guests, sorry if I missed any of you.

Henry stole the show when we sang Happy Birthday and he started eating the cake with his face.  It wasn’t until presents that he started to meltdown, he hadn’t had a nap outside of that long morning one, but once we realized he hadn’t eaten in awhile (oops), crisis was averted.

It really was the most perfect day.  My vision was completely executed. I couldn’t have asked for anything better.  Ben and I were so blessed that at all the people who came to celebrate our little monster.  The kid sure is loved.  People helped to clean up, take loads of stuff back to our house and truly warmed our hearts throughout the entire day.  I’m the type of person that can usually find something wrong with everything I attend/do and to be honest, there was nothing wrong with this day.  It was special.  Henry knew it.  People were loving on him left and right.

Party Guest Fun!

Who doesn’t love a million pictures of the birthday boy eating cake?!?

Presents!

For those already asking, yes I am already starting to plan next years party.  Doing things small and quaint just isn’t my cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

