Month 8

Standard

We are one day shy of Henry turning nine months old and lets met tell you, month eight has been a whirlwind.  This month brought us our first family road trip, dressing up for Halloween, birthdays, new tricks and so much more.

During this month, we decided to take the plunge to finger foods.  What a fun adventure this has been.  There are few things that Henry can eat still due to his dairy protein intolerance.  Thus far we’ve tried peas, carrots, mandarin oranges, bananas, pancakes (dairy free), meatballs, sloppy joes, noodles, blueberries and chicken.  Boy does he LOVE feeding himself.  We were still giving him half the amount of purees he was getting until the got the hang of it, but over the weekend we stopped doing that.  At Carol’s he still gets purees, but hopefully soon we’ll move him out of those all together.  I’m also pushing the no bottle thing too.  I’d rather get him used to not having it sooner than later.  He’s never been a bottle dependent baby (you know the one who screams when they see one), but he does get excited at bottle times.  He’s doing pretty good with using it at dinner, he knows when he wants a drink.  Soon we’ll be bottle free!

IMG_5592

Henry also decided to learn a TON of new tricks this month.  We’ve moved on from rolling, that is so last month, to crawling. This crawling thing happened within the last two weeks.  It started as an army crawl and by the next day it was a full blown crawl (in his own way of course) along with sitting himself up from laying down.  Now you can imagine how fun it must be to learn these things.  Within the last week, it has become so fun, that we can’t sleep.  Literally.  At first, I thought maybe it was nightmares, then possibly he didn’t like his green sheets, he was afraid of rolling out of the crib or he just wanted his mommy.  NOPE.  Finally convinced it’s far too excited about crawling that he can’t sleep.  It’s impossible.

Other new tricks he’s learned are “so big,” high fives, saying mama (YES!!), and pulling himself up.

IMG_5790

We were lucky enough to have our first family road trip in October to visit GGrandma and GGrandpa Mather.  Henry and I have done our fare share of road tripping, but it was the first time dad got to tag along (I’m not counting Kelly’s wedding).  It was planned out to be the perfect weekend.  Food was made, bags were packed, dog was taken care of and we were off.  Earlier in the week Henry had stayed home from daycare because he had a fever that we assumed was teething related.  Took him to the doctor to get checked out and he was given the a-okay.  With that, we really were super excited for our perfect family weekend.  Well, it was far from perfect.  HD was very groggy on the ride up.  We both decided it would be best to leave at bedtime.  He would sleep the whole way, we’d do a fast transfer and the next day would be filed with fun.  It didn’t happen that way.  HD is a tummy sleeper and after a while got a bit fussy in the car because he couldn’t turn over.  Then when we arrived, he was wide awake.  Last time I checked 11pm is not the time to party unless you’re in college.  We rocked and shushed him to sleep then off to bed we went.  The next morning he was awake bright and early, still kind of groggy with a  little cough.  Ben and I always get stuffy there with the wood burner and didn’t think anything of it.  Henry decided to take two morning naps and fought his afternoon one.  At this point, his cough was getting slightly worse and I was convinced croup was taking residence in his body.  One of the babies at daycare had been out with it earlier in the week and it’s pretty contagious.  Ben of course reminds me I’m overreacting and all will be well.  While the men were off hiking, Grandma and I decided to bundle up and head for a walk ourselves.  It was beautiful.  Right at the very end we got to see snow falling.  Henry loved it too.  Toward dinner time I decided to give HD a shower to help the snot run through his body.  He was off to sleep at his normal time, but I wasn’t convinced he was very healthy.

IMG_5870

Ready.. Set..Go

IMG_5894

Bundled up for a nice fall walk in the North Woods

By the time we went to bed, my full blown mom panic went off.  His breathing was labored, he was wheezing and barking.  I made Ben wake him up because it broke my heart just watching him like that.  I also assured Ben that he had croup.  It was all the signs that Katherine had when I was her nanny and after talking to Megan it was all the signs her son had as well.  Ben bundled up Henry and took him outside to the cool air.  My mind was racing.  There was no way I could sleep.  What if he stopped breathing?  Those of you who know me best, know nothing about me is optimistic and I always think the worst.  After they came inside I gave Ben an ultimatum.  Either we go home now to a hospital or we find one near by.  He made me WebMD signs of croup first.  My mom superpowers weren’t enough at this point.  We Googled hospitals near by and found there was a 25 bed one in Eagle River.  Smarty pants husband called first to make sure their ER could see us  Imagine if we drove all that way and they couldn’t help us?  Momma bear wouldn’t have been very happy.

IMG_5899

It took like what seemed forever to get to the ER.  My insides were crumbling and all I wanted to do was hold my baby.  Since it was so late at night (around 11:30) and Eagle River isn’t a booming metropolis, we were seen right away.  Actually they were waiting for us with what we thought were opened arms.  The nurse was nice, Ben wasn’t fond of her.  Then the doctor (I think that’s the appropriate word) stumbled in.  We imagine that he was well into dreamland and didn’t take enough time to wake up.  I’d panic too if I heard there was an infant with breathing problems in my ER.  Well, after he stumbled in and mumbled his name, he very roughly examined our child.  Never once looking at the computer with all his vitals.  He even asked what his temperature was.  My claws almost came out at this point.  He also questioned why we thought it was croup.  Besides having every symptom was not good enough.  At one point he just left.  Didn’t say anything, just walked out.  The nurse and student came back to inform us Henry would be getting a steroid and breathing treatment to help open his airway. Let me just say, I was super proud of my little guy during this whole time. He took his breathing treatment like a champ and even sucked on the steroid as if it were a bottle.  When Mr. Odd MD came back in I asked for Tylenol.  At this point, the claws really came out.  Mr. Odd MD proceeded to give us the “a fever is the body’s way of fighting off a virus” lecture.  Guess what buddy, I know that, but right now my child is burning up and I don’t want him to have a seizure on top of his breathing problem so give me the damn tylenol.  In true ER fashion that came around 30 mins later.  I informed the nurse he wouldn’t take it because it was grape flavored, he only likes cherry.  She goes, he did fine with the apple juice steroid.  Ok lady, whatever you think.  After he fought with her to take it, I gave it a try.  This resulted in vomiting a six ounce bottle all over my lap and a lecture from the nurse about how to properly give Tylenol.  At this point I wasn’t about to tell her that he will force himself to throw up any non cherry tasting medicine.  I looked at Ben and told him to get me out of here.

IMG_5900

You can’t make me take that medicine lady

We finally made it home after our first and not so great ER experience.  Grandma and Grandpa didn’t even know we left.  HD was exhausted, we all were.  The next morning, we got up, ate breakfast and left.  The car ride home wasn’t terrible.  I sat in the backseat to entertain HD and we stopped once for a lunch break.  We kept him home on Monday to ensure that he really was okay.  When he started tormenting the dog and pulling his play mat apart, we knew it was time to send him to Carol.

In true Henry fashion.  Sick and showing off his tricks.

In true Henry fashion. Sick and showing off his tricks.

Look Mom

Look Mom

Get me out of this car

Get me out of this car

Finally, October is always a big month for the Zusan family because of our annual pumpkin carve and family trick or treating. Here are a few pictures from all the fun over those two days.

Grandma and her grandkids/nieces/nephews

Grandma and her grandkids/nieces/nephews

IMG_5773

Our pumpkin and his pumpkin

 

All the pumpkins

All the pumpkins

Skelton baby

Skelton baby

Henry and Addison at the daycare Halloween Party

Henry and Addison at the daycare Halloween Party

Beating up Addison

Beating up Addison

A Halloween present from Grammy and GRANDPA

A Halloween present from Grammy and GRANDPA

IMG_6021 IMG_6005 IMG_6013

Our little monster

Our little monster

Leave a Reply

