Sausage Rigatoni

Standard

There are times when I find inspiration for a meal just from looking at a picture or seeing the title to a recipe.  My mom taught me long ago the keys to cooking; have fun and screw the recipe.  She also told me I’d get a book of all her favorite recipes when I moved out.  Took a few years, but I finally got it.  When asked what took so long she said, “I don’t have recipes, so I had to either make everything or remember.”  That’s my problem.  Unless I’m baking, I do not follow a recipe to a ‘t.’  I like to put my own little spin on what we eat.  Usually, I look at the ingredients and leave the measuring and such to what I think is right. I have many recipe following friends who are great cooks, I just don’t have the patience for that!!

Last nights dinner was no different.  I saw a picture, looked at the name and went from there.  With that, I made what according to my husband was the best meal we’ve had in ages.  Honestly, I didn’t think he’d like it.  He’ll eat anything, but we definitely have different tastes.  Since he claimed it was SO good, I thought it would be unfair to everyone to not share (hehehe)!

IMG_5303

Ingredients:

1 pound bulk sausage
1 container grape or cherry tomatoes
1 package fresh sliced mushrooms
Rigatoni pasta
Spinach
Pesto
Fresh parmesan

Brown sausage throughly (drain when done) and cook pasta according to directions.  In a separate pan add container of tomatoes.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Sauté them until they start to shrivel, add to sausage.  Cook mushrooms in same pan as tomatoes, adding more olive oil if needed.  When done add those to sausage tomato mixture.  Throw in a handful or two of spinach along with a few scoops of pesto.  Combine pasta and sausage mixture.  Top with fresh parmesan and a side of the good .99 bread from Woodman’s!! Don’t forget the necessary glass of wine.

Leave a Reply

