Happy Anniversary

Standard
Today is a day of reflection.  Two years ago today I married the man of my dreams and I’m still as crazy about him today as I was the day he asked me to be his girlfriend.  I’ve spent the majority of the last few days thinking about where our life has taken us and where we will go.  I’ve already looked at all 2204 wedding pictures, as I do every anniversary and can’t believe so much has happened since that glorious July day.  We’ve traveled, had numerous arguments, laughed more times than I can count, I graduated TWICE, changed jobs, made new friends, completed home improvement projects, became parents and so much more.
Over the past 6 years, I have professed my love to Ben on more than one occasion.  Obviously everyday I tell him I love his face, but there are these special moments (anniversaries, birthdays, Christmas, Kwanzaa, vacations) when I go the extra mile to tell him how much I really do love him.  For instance:
*One time I happened to fill his living room with post its containing all the reasons I love him.  My cousin Ashley can attest that it was a TON of post its too.
*Usually I get him some sort of extra sappy or not so sappy card to say, “Hey I love you a little extra today.”  All of which he has kept, including the post its  
*I always give him a card before I leave on vacation, sometimes one for everyday that I’ll be gone.  My greatest fear is that I’ll never make it home, so if I don’t, he’ll at least at my words to bind us together (morbid I know).
*Back in the day, when we were SO in love (wait that hasn’t changed) and I had more time on my hands, I’d take millions of pictures of us throughout the year and then make a book of our “year” together.  Now I just take hundreds of pictures and post them to Facebook, which he never sees because he doesn’t believe in FB
*Not to mention, I’m a fabulous present giver and Ben has gotten some great gifts over the years
This year we decided to not go the present route, for once, I was okay with that.  We will celebrate our anniversary with ribs, potatoes and ice cream tonight (mostly excited about the ice cream part) and dinner at 8 12 MVP tomorrow.  I’m hoping Ben ordered a side of Aaron Rodgers as a surprise.    
Of course I bought him a bunch of sappy and not so sappy cards, but as I stated previously in this blog, I feel like I’ve said the same thing in each card for the last 6 years.  So this year, I decided to dedicate this blog to the man that made me realize that fairytales aren’t just for storybooks and living happily ever after isn’t just a dream.  P.S. some of you may think it’s weird that I’m professing my endless love to my husband in a blog, but seriously when you’re pregnant you’re emotions take over 98% of your body and they’re hard to keep in 
Jon Bon Jovi said it best when he wrote, “Thank You for Loving Me,” a tune we often belt out to one another.  
So Ben, thank you for the last 6 years.  For not walking away when I was crazy and sticking with me when I was even crazier.  For driving to Whitewater multiple times a week just to watch TV together.  For asking my parents if you could date me.  For finally asking my parents if you could marry me.  For putting up with my moods.  For knowing how to still make me smile everyday.  For taking my breath away.  For making sure I’m safe.  For holding my hand when I was scared.  For supporting my decisions.  For being you.  For doing cooking, cleaning and doing the laundry when I just don’t feel like it.  For taking care of me when I’m sick.  For so much more
I’ll never forget our first date on March 28, 2006 (bowling for your birthday) and the day you asked me to marry you on August 17, 2008.  I’ll forever remember every detail of every special moment we’ve shared.  Our first kiss, holding hands for the first time in front of our families (awkward), Florida, Disney, Colorado, snowboarding, our wedding day,  our honeymoon, ski lift rides, cooking together, late night walks, early morning talks, saving water, and so much more. 
Years from now, I plan on sharing with our children just how lucky I am.  I’ve always believed in love, you’ve made me believe in endless love.  Something I hope we will instill in our children.  You’re a fantastic husband and you’ll be an ever greater father.  I can’t wait to see where our life takes us, but I know for sure, I don’t want to go on any adventure without you.  
With all my heart
xoxo 
 
Leave a Reply

